Browsing Tag

McLaren Racing News

3 posts

McLaren Racing Limited is a British motor racing team, known for competing in Formula One and American open wheel racing. Founded in 1963 by Bruce McLaren, the team has won 183 races, 12 Drivers’ Championships, and 8 Constructors’ Championships. McLaren is a subsidiary of the McLaren Group, which owns a majority of the team.

Under different team principal leaderships, McLaren has had several successful eras, with Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, and Ayrton Senna winning seven Drivers’ Championships between them. The team faced a difficult 2013 season before announcing a switch to Honda engines for 2015. In 2021, McLaren purchased 75% of Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and entered the electric off-road racing series Extreme E. They also joined Formula E for the 2022-23 season.