ELMS 2023 Spa-Francorchamps Preview

- ELMS 2023 Spa-Francorchamps Preview
#6 Ligier JS P320 – Nissan / 360 RACING / Terrence Woodward / Ross Kaiser / Mark Richards
Last Updated on September 13, 2023

The European Le Mans Series will continue with the fourth round of the 2023 season at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps from September 22 to 24.

With three races already completed and three left to run, this is the start of the second half of the season. The mammoth 41 car-grid with 26 teams and 120 drivers from 30 different nations will compete in the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday, September 24. This is the longest track on the calendar, with a 7.0039km distance.

Belgium has three drivers on the grid, including Alessio Picariello, who leads the LMGTE Championship in the no16 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR-19 alongside his North American teammates Ryan Hardwick and Zacharie Robichon.

Ulysse De Pauw will compete in the LMGTE category for his home event in the no51 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO. Tom Van Rompuy is the third Belgian driver on the grid competing with DKR Engineering in the LMP2 Pro/Am class.


Seven cars entered in the LMP2 class, with Round 1 winners Neel Jani, Nico Pino and René Binder holding a slender one point championship lead. The IDEC Sport team is just 8 points behind the leaders, with Laurents Hörr, Paul Lafargue, and Paul Loup Chatin on 43 points. Hanson has won four times at Spa since 2018 for the Anglo-American team and also holds the LMP2 lap record.

LMP2 Pro/Am

The LMP2 Pro/Am field consists of 10 cars, with the no23 United Autosports USA entry having withdrawn due to injury to Jim McGuire. After victory in Aragon last time out, the no83 AF Corse Oreca leads the championship with François Perrodo and Matthieu Vaxiviere on 58 points.


The no17 COOL Racing Ligier trio of Adrien Chila, Alejandro Garcia, and Marcos Siebert won their second race of the season in Aragon and head to Belgium with a 26-point advantage over Round 2 winners Antoine Doquin and Jacques Wolff in the no31 Racing Spirit of Leman Ligier. Oscar Tunjo, Torsten Kratz, and Leo Weiss are on 37 points, just three behind the second-placed car, in the no12 WTM by Rinaldi Racing Duqueine.


Alessio Picariello, Ryan Hardwick, and Zacharie Robichon bounced back to the top of the LMGTE points standings after finishing second in Aragon. The no16 Proton Competition Porsche starts the second half of the season with 45 points, just two points ahead of the no57 Kessel Racing Ferrari after Takeshi Kimura and Scott Huffaker won the 4 Hours of Aragon with Ferrari works driver Davide Rigon.

Entry to the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps event is absolutely free for everyone on all three days. There is a limited pass for the autograph session, pit walk, and grid walk, which is available from the ELMS Village at the track on a first-come, first-served basis for just 15€.

Provisional entry list for the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps
Provisional entry list for the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps
Related Posts